Click to resize the text + -

Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

Governor appoints two new commissioners, reappoints two incumbents

Gov. Dave Heineman has appointed two new commissioners to the Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education. Lori Warner of South Sioux City will represent District 3, which covers northeast Nebraska. Dwayne Probyn of Papillion will be an at-large member of the commission.

Warner is president and CEO of the South Sioux City Area Chamber of Commerce. She held the same position with the Beatrice Area Chamber of Commerce from 2005 to 2012. Warner earned a Bachelor of Science in Education from Peru State College.

Probyn is executive director of the Nebraska Advanced Manufacturing Coalition's "Dream !t Do !t" initiative. Prior to that, he was director of workforce development at Metro Community College in Omaha. Probyn earned his Bachelor of Science in Science Technology Engineering and Math (STEM) and his Master of Science in STEM from Bradley University. The commission is governed by an 11-member board of commissioners.

Six commissioners represent each of the state's supreme court districts and five serve as at-large members. Commissioners serve six-year terms. Gov. Heineman also reappointed two current members of the commission: Mary Lauritzen, an at-large member from West Point who has served on the commission since 2000; and Scott Wilson of Papillion, who has represented District 4 on the commission since 2009.

The Legislature still must confirm the governor's appointments. Warner, Probyn, Lauritzen and Wilson will appear before the Legislature's Education Commission Feb. 10 for their appointment hearings.

The commission's District 1 seat, which covers Lancaster and Seward Counties, remains vacant after former Commissioner Riko Bishop was appointed to the Nebraska Court of Appeals, 1st District. Those interested in serving as a member of the commission from District 1 can apply at the governor's website.