Click to resize the text + -

Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

CCPE Commissioners


Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education consists of 11 commissioners appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Nebraska State Legislature. Commissioners are chosen to represent each Nebraska Supreme Court Judicial District (see map) and to fill at-large positions.

Gwenn Aspen

Chair - Gwenn Aspen


Term: August 2016 to January 2022

445 N. 61st St.
Omaha, NE 68132


Gwenn Aspen is the founder and president of Anequim which provides a variety of services to property management companies that improve their efficiency and profitability. In 2006 Gwenn and her husband started Wistar Group, a property management company in which she remains a principal and serves on the board. She was a member of the board of Omaha Healthy Kids Alliance for 4 years, and the 2014 recipient of the Omaha Healthy Homes Award for her work in safe and healthy housing. She was a Court Appointed Special Advocate for foster children for 6 years. Aspen is a native of Michigan and graduated with a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan.



District 1

Term: Vacant 




Dr. Deb Frison

District 2 - Dr. Deborah Frison

Term: January 2018 to January 2024

6945 N. 118th Circle
Omaha, NE 68142


Frison is Deputy Commissioner of School Improvement and Support for the Nebraska Department of Education. Prior to joining NDE, she was principal at Omaha Burke High School for seven years. Frison also served as principal at Morton Middle School and King Science and Technology Magnet School, both in Omaha. She began her career in education as a music teacher. Frison earned her bachelor’s degree from Nebraska Wesleyan University, master’s degree from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and doctorate in Educational Administration from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dr. Paul Von Behren

District 3 - Dr. Paul Von Behren

Term: January 2020 to January 2026

2046 E. 30th Street
Fremont, NE 68625


Paul Von Behren of Fremont retired after an extensive career in agriculture, having worked in private veterinary practice, 23 years in the swine industry, and 13 years in the beef and dairy industries for Cargill and ADM. His roles included managing a production facility, serving as staff veterinarian, sales management, and business development. Dr. Von Behren and his wife have also operated several businesses including food animal production, swine genetics, rentals, and a bed and breakfast. Dr. Von Behren earned his DVM at Iowa State University and an MBA from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.


District 4 - Gene Kelly

Term: December 2020 to January 2026

1105 Rousseau Court
Papillion, NE 68046


Gene Kelly is retired from a wide career path including farm and factory work, Air Force officer, program manager, graduate researcher, software development, system engineering, financial analysis and management, construction, general contractor, and several businesses. He is a past treasurer, vice-president and president of the Papillion – La Vista Public Schools, having served twelve years. He is the founder of a Nebraska public-employee pension reform group. Gene earned his Bachelor of Arts in Quantitative Methods from the University of St. Thomas, and his Master of Science in Information Systems from the School of Engineering at the Air Force Institute of Technology.

Colleen Adam

District 5 - Colleen Adam

Term: January 2016 to January 2022

4900 Osborne Drive East
Hastings, NE 68901


Colleen Adam of Hastings is an active community, state and national volunteer. She has served in leadership positions on the boards of the Nebraska Humanities Foundation, the Hastings Museum Foundation, and the Mary Lanning Healthcare Foundation. Adam also has been active in the local, state and national Medical Association Alliance, including serving as its national president from 1998-99. Adam attended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where she received a bachelor's degree in speech pathology and a master's degree in audiology.

Molly O'Holleran

District 6 - Molly O’Holleran

Term: December 2020 to January 2022

1001 S. Deerwood Drive
North Platte, NE 69101


Molly O’Holleran of North Platte currently serves on the board of the Nebraska Children and Families Foundation and several local boards and genealogical societies. She has advocated for education on various levels, including Nebraska’s State Board of Education and the National Association of State Boards of Education, where she was chair of the Governmental Affairs Committee. O’Holleran also served on the North Platte Public Schools Board of Education, North Platte Public Schools Foundation, Nebraska Association of School Boards Legislative Committee, and the Nebraska Council on Teacher Education. She is a graduate of the University of Nebraska – Lincoln and taught English for Westside Community Schools in Omaha, Nebraska; Kapaun Mount Carmel in Wichita, Kansas; and Mid-Plains Community College in North Platte, Nebraska.

Mary Lauritzen

Member-at-Large - Mary Lauritzen

Term: January 2020 to January 2026

1097 Highway 9
West Point, NE 68788


Mary Lauritzen recently retired as clinic manager of the Family Vision Center, P.C. of West Point, Neb., and previously worked in retail sales, management and banking. She is a former national president of the American Foundation for Vision Awareness, former board member of the Auxiliary to the American Optometric Association, and is currently the chairman of the Nebraska Foundation for Children's Vision.  She has served on the board of Nebraska's Anne Batchelder Excellence in Public Service Series, a leadership development program for politically active women. She serves in many areas as a community volunteer. Lauritzen is a native of Indiana and a graduate of the Ray-Vogue Schools in Chicago.

W. Scott Wilson 

Member-at-Large - W. Scott Wilson

Term: January 2020 to January 2026

9406 Club House Circle
Plattsmouth, NE 68048


Scott Wilson has worked for CenturyLink - formerly Qwest Communications - for more than 20 years, currently as a senior design engineer. Wilson knows first-hand the value of a Nebraska education, having graduated from Papillion-LaVista High School and earning his Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Wayne State College.

Tim Daniels 

Member-at-Large - Tim Daniels

Term: July 2019 to January 2024

9214 Crown Point Avenue
Omaha, NE 68134


Tim Daniels is a Panhandle native who received a BA in business from Chadron State College and spent most of his career in the Scottsbluff-Gering area, where he was an active community leader in the Scottsbluff-Gering Chamber of Commerce, Rotary Club, United Way, Panhandle Community Services Foundation, and the Western Nebraska Community College Foundation Board of Directors, among others.  He also served for 13 years on the Western Nebraska Community College Board of Governors, including 2 years as chairman.

Charles Garman 

Member-at-Large - Charles Garman 

Term: July 2019 to January 2024

16859 Saratoga Circle
Omaha, NE 68116


Charles Garman is an attorney in Omaha who, along with nearly a decade of legal experience in the private sector, previously served as the Education Committee Legal Counsel for the Nebraska Legislature.  Garman is also a 13-year veteran of the U.S. Army and the South Dakota and Nebraska National Guards.  He received his BA in political science and philosophy from Augustana University and his JD degree from Creighton University School of Law.

Committee rosters

Commissioners serve on at least one of four committees: Executive; Academic Programs; Budget, Construction and Financial Aid; and Planning and Consumer Information. View the 2021-2022 Committee Roster