Click to resize the text + -

Nebraska's Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

Commission honors Seacrest for 29 years of service

The Coordinating Commission on Dec. 3 paid tribute to Eric Seacrest of North Platte, who is stepping down from his role as a Commissioner after nearly 30 years of service. At the Commission's morning meeting, Chair Carol Zink presented Seacrest with a framed resolution that conferred on him the title of Honorary Commissioner Emeritus. After the meeting, the Commission held a luncheon in his honor.

Seacrest has served on the Commission since 1986, making him the longest tenured Commissioner in history. In 1986, the Commission had limited duties and responsibilities and a staff of two people. In 1990, Nebraskans amended the State Constitution and created the current version of the Commission with increased duties and responsibilities. Seacrest was one of the original 11 Commissioners appointed at that time. He has served on every Commission committee, as chair of the Commission on multiple occasions, and has led numerous Commission projects and initiatives.

Seacrest earned his bachelor’s degree from Amherst College in Massachusetts. He was the longtime C.E.O. of Western Publishing Company until its sale in 2000. He oversaw publications in Lexington, North Platte, Scottsbluff and Sidney. Since 2001, Seacrest has been executive director of the Mid-Nebraska Community Foundation, which, among its many charitable activities, has awarded college scholarships to hundreds of Nebraska students.

The Commission is governed by an 11-member board of Commissioners, who serve on a volunteer basis. Six Commissioners represent each of the state’s supreme court districts and five serve as at-large members. Commissioners serve six-year terms. Seacrest has served as a member-at-large.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature. No replacement for Seacrest has been announced.